Your Personal #UltimateManicsAlbums: Part 4

Time rolls on towards the final Day of #UltimateManicsAlbum reckoning, when all will be revealed (it’s this Sunday from 9pm, where have you been?)

In the meantime, we continue to be entertained by what a bunch of you would make it if the choices were solely down to you.  And I continue to push them out in a fashion designed by me, unchronologically to the shock and horror of many.  As @Pyfbrown rightly says, you can get more of a sense of journey, of career progression, this way.  But this time, while the choices coming through are pretty varied (subject to comment in my next paragraph!), I was wary that there would be some popular choices, and I figured that grouping the songs as placed on the original albums would keep things a little more varied.

I’ve thrown mine into the mix today, and apologies to one of the other submissions for looking like I’ve effectively copied his – but we have a history of choosing similar entries on these types of things!  And fortunately it is sandwiched by one of the most original albums so far…

Star Album today takes this blog to Eurasian territories, and I got a lovely email infused with excitement and good cheer and honesty and as a result of my constant nagging to you all! An art lover, a drummer, a song writer, I give you….

Георген / George @EuropeanMe

George

Your Magic Manics Tracks: Tracks 3 and 4!

Includes: 6 singles

1 The Everlasting (from This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours)

I fell in love with The Everlasting at the very first listen. This is one of the best songs they’ve ever written, IMHO, and it has a special place in my heart. The words are pure poetry.

2 A Design For Life (from Everything Must Go)

I can’t explain why – because it was there, it appeared & made them continue writing great songs.

3 La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh) (from Gold Against The Soul)

There is no special idea for this album that can unite the songs like on THB or GT, and that’s why I choose this as a standout track. It is perfect, both music & lyrics. If I ever have to choose some of the best representatives of their discography, this one will be in the list.

4 Your Love Alone Is Not Enough (from Send Away The Tigers)

Simply the best. Another standout track in their collection. One of those tracks that can change your life, and I guess it even changed their lives. The melody is gorgeous.

5 Some Kind Of Nothingness (from Postcards From A Young Man)

I think, the title track represents the album the best, but I get a bit tired of all this symphonic greatness. With Some Kind Of Nothingness I never get tired, here all the arrangements as well as the song itself make me feel euphoric. Nicky’s songwriting at its highlight.

6 Motorcycle Emptiness (from Generation Terrorists)

I like GT songs, they are full of energy, anxiety, youth. But no other song from the album will survive as long in fans’ memory as this early masterpiece.  Nothing to add, nothing to change – everything in its right place in this 6-minute beauty.

7 A Song For Departure (from Lifeblood)

One of the first songs I heard by them. I like this one very much, it is so underrated. I remember hearing this, Everlasting, Tolerate & My Little Empire back in the 2010. I liked the songs, but somehow I forgot that there was a band called Manic Street Preachers, whose discography I had to discover.   I remembered about this small bunch of songs 3 years later, during one of the worst moments in my life, and hearing them saved me & gave me a new direction. I also tried YLAINE and a few listens later found myself being a fan of the band. Since then there hasn’t been a day without MSP songs in my life.

8 This Joke Sport Severed (from Journal For Plague Lovers)

I adore all JFPL stuff, but this is heartbreaking. I remember not giving this song the respect it deserved at first. One day I tried again, and as a result next 6 hours or more this song was playing in my room on repeat.

9 Dreaming A City (Hughesovka) (from Futurology)

I never had a doubt in choosing this as a favourite one from their recent material. One of few songs that never stops to remain fresh & sound cool.

10 This Is Yesterday (from The Holy Bible)

I chose This Is Yesterday because it’s the only one from The Holy Bible that could particularly exist even not being the part of this masterpiece. It’s just one of those tracks from their 90s’ stuff, which brings you a sense of nostalgia.

11 30-Year War (from Rewind The Film)

The most powerful one on RTF. It inspires you to struggle against everything, whether it is Thatcherism or just personal laziness (it happens).

12 Freedom Of Speech Won’t Feed My Children (from Know Your Enemy)

It was hard to choose something from KYE because I can’t define any standout track that has the same weight as Motorcycle Emptiness, Tsunami etc. But this one is a culmination in my opinion of everything KYE was. Nicky is a bit lost, but his lyrics still hit you. The music is quite inventive, thanks JDB!

Paudie O’Neill @oneillpaudie

paudie

Your Magic Manics Tracks: Tracks 1 and 2!

Includes: 4 singles

1 Yes (from The Holy Bible)

2 The Everlasting (from This is My Truth Tell Me Yours)

3 1985 (from Lifeblood)

4 From Despair to Where (from Gold Against the Soul)

5 Postcards From a Young Man (from Postcards From a Young Man)

6 Show Me the Wonder (from Rewind the Film)

7 Intravenous Agnostic (from Know Your Enemy)

8 Motorcycle Emptiness (from Generation Terrorists)

9 Europa Geht Durch Mich (from Futurology)

10 Autumnsong (from Send Away the Tigers)

11 All is Vanity (from Journal For Plague Lovers)

12 No Surface All Feeling (from Everything Must Go)

Gem @pluralistbaby

gem
Your Magic Manics Tracks: A trio – 3, 4 and 10!

Includes: 6 singles

1 Kevin Carter (from Everything Must Go)

2 Intravenous Agnostic (from Know Your Enemy)

3 Some Kind of Nothingness (from Postcards From a Young Man)

4 Yourself (from Gold Against the Soul)

5 Indian Summer (from Send Away the Tigers)

6 Builder of Routines (from Rewind the Film)

7 Tsunami (from This is My Truth Tell Me Yours)

8 I Live to Fall Asleep (from Lifeblood)

9 She Bathed Herself in Bleach (from Journal For Plague Lovers)

10 Another Invented Disease (from Generation Terrorists)

11 This is Yesterday (from The Holy Bible)

12 Between the Clock and the Bed (from Futurology)

JamGaw @starsfrighten

jam

Your Magic Manics Tracks: 2 and 5!

Includes: 5 singles

1 Jackie Collins Existential Question Time (from Journal For Plague Lovers)

2 Postcards From a Young Man (from Postcards From a Young Man)

3 Show Me the Wonder (from Rewind the Film)

4 Intravenous Agnostic (from Know Your Enemy)

5 Motorcycle Emptiness (from Generation Terrorists)

6 Life Becoming a Landslide (from Gold Against the Soul)

7 The Second Great Depression (from Send Away the Tigers)

8 Europa Geht Durch Mich (from Futurology)

9 You’re Tender and You’re Tired (from This is My Truth Tell Me Yours)

10 No Surface All Feeling (from Everything Must Go)

11 Cardiff Afterlife (from Lifeblood)

12 PCP (from The Holy Bible)

Leave a comment